stray cat feeders - need your advice — Brooklynian

stray cat feeders - need your advice

edited 2:34PM in Brooklyn Pets
So I have been feeding my current stray colony for about 7 months. They mainly hang out in an abandoned lot.

When I went to feed tonight I saw that the city had put rat poison in the lot. I fed the cats near the fence, not going into the lot.

The cats know my voice and scent. So I called them over and they came. These cats are not friendly at all, very feral. Has anyone had any experience with moving feeding spots? Any suggestions?

I don't want them to hang out in that lot, but there really aren't any other places to feed them. The lot is between two houses, so I'm sure the homeowners do not want stray cats hanging out in their driveway.

Comments

• The poison would mainly pose a threat to the cats if they eat a poisoned rat. If you are keeping the cats well-fed, hopefully they will have little incentive to do that.

I used to take care of a colony where a similar thing happened: one day all those little orange flags appeared, signalling that poisoning was going on. It seemed to have no impact on the cats.

Have you tried contacting the feral cat colony experts at Neighborhood Cats?
  • Thanks Laura B!

I just checked the Neighborhood Cats site and they have a workshop tomorrow night (but I can't attend). I will try to attend one of their November ones.

I will lay out cardboard tonight when I go to feed, so I can get into the lot. I am going to work on building them a shelter as well.
  • Good for you darla!